The original painting idea evolves

Welcome to the chronicle of my latest project, a book series for and about my daughter Ruby June.  The idea came about as a result of an art show I am taking part in on April 29, 2011.  The crew where I work are all artists and we decided it was time for a staff art show.  My original idea was to do a large scale painting of a character I created as a mascot for one of the classes I used to teach.  His name is Fifties Dad, a visual representation of that ideal dad from the fifties.  Cool and calm under pressure but a total square.  I loved the idea of this guy saving the day in a host of outrageous situations, the first being an overwhelmingly massive attack from Atlantis. 

I totally saw him with the huge, transparent, fish-bowl helmet, still calmly smoking his pipe while fending off Atlantis with a firmly preventative outstretched hand.

Fifties Dad painting thumbnail

the thumbnail for the original painting idea

So I did a concept sketch and sat on it for a little while.  Then the idea of changing the character to my daughter struck me.  I thought, how cool would that be to have a huge painting of her (still very stylized) on her bedroom wall, preventing Atlantis from it’s impending attack on the surface world.  So I did some more sketches.

character design for Ruby June
Ruby June character design
cover sketch for Ruby June vs Atlantis

quick cover sketch for Ruby June and the Voice of the Sea

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.